Discipleship Council

Top Row:  Jason Barrett (BOSS), Kevin Burleson (MOB Squad), Clint Harrington (WSGN-SOBs), Steve Simonich (GAIMers), Jeff Taylor (BAM), Ed Everett (SOBs), Tod Higginbotham (Misfit Boys), Scott Cofran (The 13)

Bottom Row:  Brooks Howell (FISH), Mark Pillsbury (MIA), Bucky Farrow (ManU), Mike Walker (BMOC), Eric Bach (Cross Heirs), Tim Howard (SOL), Mickey Peters (BBC)

Not Pictured – Rick Chapman (The 13), Clay Cossey (Ironmen), John Eyster (Salty Dogs), Will Hayley (BOBs), Jeff McCord (UFC), Clay Weaver (Kingsmen)

In December 2018,

WSGN sent out a plea for each small group to prayerfully nominate one representative to serve on the newly forming WSGN Discipleship Council (DC). The spots were filled quickly!

The DC meets 4 times each year with the following purposes:

  • Promote fellowship in discipleship
  • Strategize on the future vision of WSGN’s discipleship ministry
  • Foster relationships between small groups
  • Identify trends of what’s working and not working within our groups – sharing best practices
  • Find ways to strengthen and challenge our existing groups to deeper growth and accountability – make sure our groups are thriving and preparing for the storms they’re sure to face
  • Brainstorm on outreach/service projects, joint mission trips, and an annual retreat among other ideas – organize the resources to make it happen

DC Members serve 2 years as representatives of their respective WSGN groups. Having already met 3 times in 2019, these guys have prayerfully given their time, ideas, and talents to retreat planning, fundraising dialogue, group health checks, WSGN-wide service projects, and more. The current DC reps are as follows:

Brooks Howell (FISH), Bucky Farrow (ManU), Clay Cossey (Ironmen), Clay Weaver (Kingsmen), Ed Everett (SOBs), Eric Bach (Cross Heirs), Jason Barrett (BOSS), Jeff McCord (UFC), Jeff Taylor (BAM), John Eyster (Salty Dogs), Kevin Burleson (MOB), Mickey Peters (BBC), Mike Walker (BMOC), Rick Chapman (13), Steve Simonich (GAIMers), Tim Howard (SOL), Tod Higginbotham (Misfit Boys), Will Haley (BOBs), & Mark Pillsbury (MIA).